Crossing the Big Pond

Lea and me had been hitching together for a few months in Europe and came to realize that it’s actually very nice to lead such a life together. We seemed to be quite uncomplicated individuals who enjoy each other’s company on the road to the fullest. We therefore decided to do it properly: cross the Atlantic, somehow some time later this year, and continue our travels together in truly foreign environment for both of us.

For me personally it was a dream come true. I had tried boat hitchhiking before but couldn’t even make it to the Canary Islands. Now, with Lea, the idea of crossing the Big Pond and exploring a whole new continent seemed somehow more doable. She made it sound easy, straightforward. And, as a matter of fact, once the decision to go had been made, the opportunities started arising. We immediately acquainted with an amazing young captain in Germany who promised, at least, to teach us sailing and sail around the Baltic Sea, if not take us all the way cross Atlantic. Magnífico! That’s exactly what we needed, sailing experience, we thought. He did mention, however, that we should prepare the boat first (e.g. clean the smutty fridge). Sure, the whole project – fixing the boat, learning to sail, getting to the canaries, and hitching a boat across – would take about six months or more to pull through. But we were convinced that we could do it. Our plan was spotless: 1) Clean the fridge, 2) Cross the Big Pond. No biggie, eh?

The universe did it again

Then, however, an even simpler opportunity came along: insanely cheap one-way flight to Mexico. I asked Lea if she’d like to go through all the trouble with sailing or just “cheat” and take the easy option. Lea said she’d rather get across quickly and then spend time hitchhiking in Mexico, Central America and South America. She also confessed that she actually feels dizzy even in an elevator so the environment on a rocking boat might not be the easiest for her. I concurred: as much as I love challenge, I’m also a lazy fuck, and I might not have patience to wait months in marinas for that shot of luck.

This, of course, posed a bit of a dilemma. Even if the flight from Madrid to Cancun was super-cheap (ca 300 EUR for both of us) we didn’t have that kind of money. Or more precisely: a) I’ve been calling myself a moneyless being and refusing to use those imaginary numbers people call money, and b) Lea was almost broke. Once again, I couldn’t vote in these elections. All I could do was to send a wish for the universe, hope for the best and be content with whatever outcome.

Yet somehow the universe conspired to make it happen: People kept shoving money at Lea in every corner and she soon had enough for two tickets. “Does this mean that you are getting a ticket for me?” I asked. “I never thought of it like that,” she answered, “There’s a plane taking off in the end of April. We’ll be on it.”. Sweet! All I have to worry about is getting my ass on that plane. Six more weeks and… Viva México!

Sometimes it’s hard to be different

Before the pundits start commenting – how can you call yourself moneyless if you’re flying to Mexico – I want to clarify a few things. Even if we had taken the so-called moneyless option and sat in the marinas for months, begging someone to take us on their boat, there would have been costs, such as food and water, that someone else would’ve covered. Therefore, rather than advertising that I live without money maybe a more precise statement would be that I live in a one-man gift economy. Here’s what I’m trying to deliver:

  • The point of living gift economy is that I choose to deal directly with other people and try to see reality as it is without man-made constructs blurring the vision.
  • Our existence on this planet is co-existence. We are social animals who simply cannot live without others. Although we’ve been conditioned to think that we have to survive on our own, fight others, compete and be independent, I’d say interdependence is the more natural way.
  • It’s okay to rely on others, as long as you pay it forward.

Giving out free beer 4:30 am in a roundabout in Austria

So, what have I done lately to help others? I’ve given free coaching, consultancy and public talks. I’ve acquired leftover food, en masse, and either distributed it as it is or cooked for others. I’ve been sweating with both digging a compost on an olive farm and creating a short story collection. I’ve done translations and generally tried to help people in their projects with whatever skills and knowledge I might have. There is no reciprocity: I don’t expect anything in return for any of this. I do it for free.

I’m not as arduous as my other moneyless friendsRaphael says he works 40-50 hours a week and Pavlik probably 24/7 – but I do try to pitch in. I didn’t write this to justify my meager existence on planet Earth. I just wanted to answer the critique before it arises (people are not that imaginative with their questions: they are always the same). Finally, I’m grateful for all the gifts I receive. Thanks folks for helping to renew my passport! Thank you Lea and Marina and everyone who made this possible. I’ll pay it forward to the world.

8 thoughts on “Crossing the Big Pond

  1. Great to hear, that you guys are fulfilling your dreams! I hope you won’t end up forever to Americas, because I need company to go sauna with 🙂

  2. Good that you came honestly about it. Unfortunately you and your friend now have a big carbon footprint to deal with and a lot less interesting experiences after the trip. Good luck.

  3. Tomi, I may less than agree with moneyless ways as I think over-consumption is the evil, not the money. And though the two maybe deeply linked over a range, they are not exactly the same. But people like you, who live a lifestyle that explores and pushes the boundaries set by society, will always have my respect. Take care dear friend, enjoy a lot, and I wish you the very best of luck! I think a wonderful externality of this project would be, to practically explore how far and how long can one go moneyless while not compromising on the ethics you hold dear, in non-OECD countries.
    So I look forward to this, and would closely follow the blog.

    The only criticism. In the public talk you have linked to, I cannot hear your voice at all.

    Love bro, see you on the other side of the pond.

  4. I would have happily joined you on your journey accross the Atlantic…but I concur that €300 for two is an unbeatable price — how did you find this bargain? which company? where??
    –Nomad from Madrid

Leave a comment